Burning Bright: My Rank 1 Sun Team

[IMG][IMG][IMG][IMG][IMG][IMG]

Introduction

This is the team I used to grab the rank 1 spot on the Pokemon Showdown ladder (for Doubles OU), and it’s seriously strong.┬áThe team building “process” was all trial and error, this started as a team with Trick Room Hoopa Unbound, then at another point it had Pheromosa. Deoxys-A, Ferrothorn, Metagross, Tapu Koko, Cresselia, and more were all at one point or another on the team. You get the idea; I tried a bunch of stuff.

I knew that I had hit gold when I started using this particular combination. The wins started pouring in. I won’t go through all of the iterations and sets I’ve tried for each Pokemon, but I’ll give some explanations for the sets I used, EV spreads, how they work together, and in broad strokes the roles that each Pokemon performs on the team. There will also be an importable that you can copy & paste into your Pokemon Showdown Team Builder if that strikes your fancy.

The Team (Sets & Spreads)

[IMG]

Charizard-Mega-Y @ Charizardite Y
Ability: Drought
EVs: 176 HP / 60 SpA / 248 SpD / 24 Spe
Calm Nature
IVs: 0 Atk
– Flamethrower
– Solar Beam
– Ancient Power
– Protect

It’s a sun team, and it had a little bit of success, so we can rule out Torkoal and Ninetales. Charizard-Y was on the team from the very start, but it’s build went through as many changes as the rest of the team put together. I landed on a moveset that I like; Flamethrower, Solar Beam, Ancient Power, and of course Protect. I like flamethrower over the more popular Heat Wave because 1) it’s stronger and 2) it doesn’t miss. It’s also nice for not needing to fear Wide Guard from Aegislash or Celesteela, and I managed to snipe KOs on both of these Pokemon during my run while they were using Wide Guard.

Ancient Power probably stands out, it’s a pretty uncommon pick from what I understand. Heck I haven’t seen one using it besides mine. It’s a solid move though, it gives my Charizard the win in the mirror match up, and let’s me 2HKO Pokemon like Mega Salamence and Quiver Dance Volcarona, all three of these are huge threats otherwise.

I went with a specially defensive EV spread for Charizard Y. I wanted it to be bulky, and I had Intimidate support from Landorus-T to cover it on the physical side. This set is EVd to survive a Psycho Boost from Deoxys Attack while in Psychic Terrain (my go-to lead vs Deoxys + Tapu Lele teams is Charizard + Venusaur) with a bit of speed to out speed my own Zapdos & Heatran, and the rest was put into special attack.

[IMG]

Venusaur @ Life Orb
Ability: Chlorophyll
EVs: 4 HP / 252 SpA / 252 Spe
Modest Nature
IVs: 0 Atk
– Sleep Powder
– Sludge Bomb
– Hidden Power [Ice]
– Protect

Venusaur was the last Pokemon that I added. It doesn’t often save the game on it’s own, but it does what it needs to do, and it does a great job. Venusaur is a rain check, a trick room check, and an offensive powerhouse (ok it’s not super strong but you get the idea) all in one. With a Life Orb, Venusaur nabs OHKOs against most Mega Salamence, Tapu Koko, Tapu Lele, and more. The moveset is unusual, I dropped the standard Grass move to opt for Hidden Power Ice, but it gives me a check for Salamence and Zygarde. I already had Solar Beam on Charizard, and who needs more Grass type coverage than that? Not me, that’s who.

The EV spread is brain dead simple: 252/252. There was a time when I thought of EVing to always survive a Double Edge from Mega Kangaskhan, but that was before I ended up surviving one (it’s a roll) and before it was banned. There’s also little point in EVing for bulk with Life Orb recoil.
[IMG]

Tapu Lele @ Fightinium Z
Ability: Psychic Surge
EVs: 164 HP / 156 SpA / 12 SpD / 176 Spe
Modest Nature
IVs: 0 Atk
– Psychic
– Moonblast
– Focus Blast
– Protect

Now we’re starting to get into the power players. Charizard and Venusaur are good, and like I said they do what they need to do, but Tapu Lele is the queen of the team in the same way that the queen is the queen of the chessboard. IT KOS EVERYTHING. Psychic + Fairy coverage is great, and Tapu Lele is super powerful, but add on Fightinium and Lele can reliably beat Tyranitar, Ferrothorn, and most importantly Heatran.

Psychic Terrain is so amazing; it doesn’t just power up Lele, it also stops priority from hitting Lele, Heatran, and Venusaur when they’ve got their speed boosts from Tailwind and/or Chlorophyll.

The EV spread is a balanced one that I’m proud of. This Tapu Lele survives a Double Edge from 4 Atk Mega Salamence or a Hydro Pump from Modest Life Orb Kingdra in the rain. It also out speeds modest Kingdra if I have Tailwind or Sun up, making Tapu Lele a half decent rain check.
[IMG]

Zapdos @ Psychic Seed
Ability: Static
EVs: 252 HP / 80 SpA / 160 SpD / 16 Spe
Calm Nature
IVs: 0 Atk
– Thunderbolt
– Hidden Power [Ice]
– Roost
– Tailwind

If Lele is the queen, then Zapdos is the genderless king of the team. It has great typing defensively, and solid defensive stats and Roost to back that up. On top of that, it also has Psychic Seed to boost it’s special defence and Intimidate from Landorus-T to support it on the physical side. Basically it never dies. I’ve had this Zapdos take a Gigavolt Havoc from a Tapu Koko on a rain team + a Hydro Pump from a Pelipper in rain on the same turn. I can not over emphasize how good this set is on this Pokemon.

The moveset is standard, good coverage, tailwind, and roost to heal. The EV spread is neat, this Zapdos has a 15/16 chance to 2HKO 252HP 188 Sdef Celesteela after Leftovers recovery and a 15/16 chance to 2HKO standard Mega Gengar. Zapdos out speeds base 70 speed Pokemon like Metagross, Bisharp, Breloom, and Volcanion as long as they don’t have a speed boosting nature, and the rest of the EVs are in special defence. Let me say it again, Zapdos doesn’t get Ko’d. Ever.

[IMG]

Heatran @ Leftovers
Ability: Flash Fire
Shiny: Yes
EVs: 52 HP / 252 SpA / 204 Spe
Modest Nature
IVs: 0 Atk
– Flamethrower
– Earth Power
– Substitute
– Protect

I dropped Heat Wave again, and I did it to Heatran for the same reasons I did it to Charizard. The problem with Heatran is finding the right balance between speed and HP. I went with 241 speed to out speed the Pokemon that Zapdos is meant to out speed, plus one more point in case anything else was hitting the same bench mark.

Heatran with Substitute is a great Trick Room check, and with sun support it’s a very powerful attacker. The only thing that really lacks is it’s speed, but that’s what I have Tailwind for.
[IMG]

Landorus-Therian @ Choice Scarf
Ability: Intimidate
EVs: 252 Atk / 4 SpD / 252 Spe
Jolly Nature
– Earthquake
– Rock Slide
– U-turn
– Superpower

This is Choice Scarf Landorus Therian. You know what it does. I use a Jolly nature to out speed Deoxys and Pheromosa.

How to use

Here are some basic leads and plays, hopefully this will give you a good starting point if you want to try to the squad out for yourself.
1)[IMG]+[IMG]

This is the most popular lead combination. It gives insane offensive coverage right from the start (Psychic/Fairy/Fight + Electric/Ice), great bulk, and the option to speed up with Tailwind pretty much any time you could want to. If your opponent led with some strong physical attacks that threaten Zapdos before Lele can KO them, you can swap Lele out for Landorus-T turn 1 and drop the opponents attack with Intimidate, then U-turn with Landorus turn 2 into whatever offensive threat fits the situation.

2)[IMG]+[IMG]

I mentioned earlier that when I see Deoxys + Tapu Lele I generally lead these two. Venusaur threatens to sleep both, KO Lele, and even has a small chance to get through Focus Sash Deoxys with the chance for a Sludge Bomb poison. This is also a solid lead on it’s own if for whatever reason Zapdos + Lele won’t do.

There are a couple of ways to play this one. Double Protecting turn 1 to get the chlorophyll boost safely is…well safe, but it’s also what any competent opponent will be expecting. You can capitalize on this by going for a sleep or early damage outside of sun if you think your opponent will try and switch or set up on you, but keep in mind that even though your opponent might be expecting a double protect, it may still be the best play.

3)[IMG]+[IMG]

This is my lead against rain something like 50% of the time. The other 50% I lead Zapdos + Tapu Lele, but you can see the draw of shutting down enemy weather if the opponent wants to lead Politoed or Pelipper. When I do choose this lead, the play is generally Protect with Charizard + Tailwind to scout for potential rain dance leads, and even sometimes swapping Charizard for Tapu Lele if Zapdos is threatened. Playing against rain is tricky in the early game because you need to safely scout out their anti-sun measures, but between Sun, and electric type, a grass type, and a Tapu Lele built to take on rain teams, it’s definitely a match up in your favour.

4) 2 of:[IMG]/[IMG]/[IMG]

Any two of Venusaur, Tapu Lele, and Heatran is my lead of choice when I see that my opponent is going to rely on setting up Trick room at the beginning of the game. With Venusaur + Heatran, I can threaten to sleep the Trick room setter while also setting up a substitute. With this lead, I can also swap one of these Pokemon to Tapu Lele, cancelling out my opponents Terrain if they are using one and guaranteeing Venusaur can use Sleep Powder, while also cancelling out Fake Out from my opponent to either use Sleep Powder or Substitute (depending on which Pokemon I didn’t switch out).

If I can see that either sleep or substitute is going to 100% be my play going into leads, then I can skip going with both Venusaur and Heatran and just pick one or the other + Tapu Lele.

There are a lot of possible combinations here: does my opponent have Fake Out? Opposing Terrain? Hoopa Unbound? There are a lot of different ways your opponent might go about setting up Trick Room, and a lot of different ways that they might be ready to deal with your countermeasures, so spend some time at team preview figuring out the combination that you want to lead with.

Importable

Thanks for reading! Go out there and use this team, but not against me ok? It’s pretty good and I don’t like to lose.

Charizard-Mega-Y @ Charizardite Y
Ability: Drought
EVs: 176 HP / 60 SpA / 248 SpD / 24 Spe
Calm Nature
IVs: 0 Atk
– Flamethrower
– Solar Beam
– Ancient Power
– Protect
Venusaur @ Life Orb
Ability: Chlorophyll
EVs: 4 HP / 252 SpA / 252 Spe
Modest Nature
IVs: 0 Atk
– Sleep Powder
– Sludge Bomb
– Hidden Power [Ice]
– Protect
Tapu Lele @ Fightinium Z
Ability: Psychic Surge
EVs: 164 HP / 156 SpA / 12 SpD / 176 Spe
Modest Nature
IVs: 0 Atk
– Psychic
– Moonblast
– Focus Blast
– Protect
Zapdos @ Psychic Seed
Ability: Static
EVs: 252 HP / 80 SpA / 160 SpD / 16 Spe
Calm Nature
IVs: 0 Atk
– Thunderbolt
– Hidden Power [Ice]
– Roost
– Tailwind
Heatran @ Leftovers
Ability: Flash Fire
Shiny: Yes
EVs: 52 HP / 252 SpA / 204 Spe
Modest Nature
IVs: 0 Atk
– Flamethrower
– Earth Power
– Substitute
– Protect
Landorus-Therian @ Choice Scarf
Ability: Intimidate
EVs: 252 Atk / 4 SpD / 252 Spe
Jolly Nature
– Earthquake
– Rock Slide
– U-turn
– Superpower
Leave a Reply

